June 20, 2024

Council of the EU extends Russia-related sanctions for another year

On June 17, 2024, the Council of the European Union decided to renew sanctions imposed upon Russia for the illegal annexation of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol.  The sanctions, which were first introduced by the EU in 2014, were extended for an additional year, until June 23, 2025.

The extended measures prohibit the import of products into the EU that originate from Crimea and Sevastopol and ban infrastructural or financial investments and tourism services from Crimea or Sevastopol.  They also restrict the exploration and production of oil, gas and mineral resources in Crimea and the export of certain goods and technologies to companies in Crimea or for use in Crimea’s transport, telecommunications and energy sectors.

Council of the EU Press Release