June 7, 2023

Council of the EU sanctions 9 individuals responsible for the conviction of Kremlin critic

On June 5, 2023, the Council of the European Union imposed restrictive measures upon nine Russian individuals responsible for unfair the treatment of Vladimir Kara-Murza, a Russian politician, activist and outspoken critic of the Kremlin, who was sentenced to twenty-five years in prison in April 2023 on politically motivated charges.  The designations were imposed under the Global Human Rights Sanctions Regime, which subjects listed individuals to asset freezes and travel bans and prohibits EU citizens and companies from making funds available to them.

The designations were imposed following the Council’s adoption of Council Decision (CFSP) 2023/1099 and Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2023/1098 involving several Russian government officials accused of committing serious human right violations and, in particular, violations related to freedom of opinion and expression.  Among the designees is Russia’s Deputy Minister of Justice Oleg Mickhailovich who oversees the enforcement of Russia’s repressive laws; four judges and an expert witness involved in the court proceedings against Kara-Murza; Denis Vladimirovich Kolesnikov, the Head of the Investigative Department for Russia’s Investigative Committee who authorized the politically motivated criminal accusations against Kara-Murza and the investigator who issued the criminal accusations against him.

Council of the EU Press Release | Council Decision (CFSP) 2023/1099 | Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2023/1098