April 17, 2019

Trump administration announces changes to Cuba policy

On April 17, 2019, Secretary Pompeo announced that the Trump Administration will no longer waive Title III of the Helms-Burton Act in any capacity.  In doing so, the Trump Administration will allow American nationals to sue companies and persons “trafficking” in expropriated property in Cuba.  No exemptions to the lawsuits will be granted.  Additionally, anyone who traffics in such property, as well as officers or shareholders of such entities, can be denied a visa into the United States.  The policy change goes into effect May 2.  

The administration also announced that it will place a cap on remittances to Cuba and will no longer allow non-family travel to Cuba.