October 14, 2019

OFAC designates Turkish government ministries and officials

Two Turkish government ministries and three senior Turkish government officials have been designated by the Office of Foreign Assets Control of the US Department of the Treasury pursuant to a new Executive Order issued on October 14, 2019.  The sanctioned government bodies are the Ministry of National Defence and the Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources, and the officials are the Minister of National Defence, the Minister of Energy and Natural Resources, and the Minister of the Interior.

As a result of these designations, all US property of the designated persons is blocked, and dealings by US persons that involve blocked property are generally prohibited. 

In addition to the designations, OFAC issued three general licenses:  G.L. 1 authorizes employees and contractors to continue conducting US business; G.L. 2 authorizes a 30-day wind down of operations with the designated ministries, and; G.L. 3 authorizes United Nations activities involving the sanctioned ministries.

US Dept. of the Treasury press release | Executive Order of October 14, 2019

General License 1 | General License 2 | General License 3