July 15, 2020

President Trump signs Hong Kong sanctions act into law

On July 14, 2020, US President Donald Trump signed into law H.R. 7440, the Hong Kong Autonomy Act that approves sanctions for any person, entity, or financial institution that supports China’s attempts to restrict Hong Kong’s autonomy.   President Trump also signed an Executive Order ending the US policy of preferential trade treatment for Hong Kong, after China imposed national security legislation that threatened the people of Hong Kong with life in prison for any act that China considers to be an act of secession or subversion of state power.  As part of the order, the President declared a national emergency to address the unusual and extraordinary threat to Hong Kong’s autonomy.

Presidential Bill Announcement | Presidential Executive Order