August 7, 2020

Eleven officials in Hong Kong designated for threatening Hong Kong’s autonomy

On August 7, 2020, the US Department of the Treasury Office of Foreign Assets Control announced the designation of 11 individuals who threaten the autonomy of Hong Kong by suppressing the freedom of expression and assembly of the citizens of Hong Kong, pursuant to Executive Order 13936 — an executive order that declared a national emergency to address recent actions taken to undermine democratic processes in Hong Kong.  Most of the designated individuals work for the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) and the Hong-Kong Police Force (HKPF), hold high-ranking positions, and are responsible for the implementation of Beijing’s restrictive policies. The heads of the Hong Kong and Macao Affairs Office, the Hong Kong Liaison Office, and the Office for Safeguarding National Security were also sanctioned for being leaders or officials of a government entity that has threatened the security and stability of Hong Kong.

As a result of these sanctions, all US property of the designated persons is blocked, and transactions and dealings with US persons are generally prohibited.  In addition, any entities owned, directly or indirectly, 50 percent or more by sanctioned individuals is also blocked.

OFAC Press Release