January 8, 2021

UK sanctions regimes post-Brexit

The Office of Financial Sanctions Implementation and HM Treasury of the United Kingdom has published guidance on each of the country’s financial sanctions regimes in effect following the withdrawal from the European Union.  Of the 33 sanctions regimes, 26 relate to a specific country or political unit, whilst seven address issues such as chemical weapons, human rights or international counter-terrorism, and one relates to an international organization (ISIL/Da’ash/Al Qaida).

The UK financial sanctions regimes are: