December 8, 2021

OFAC designates 15 individuals for engaging in human rights abuses and repression

On December 7, 2021, the US Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control designated 15 individuals from Iran, Syria and Uganda for engaging in serious human rights abuse and acts of repression against innocent civilians, political opponents, and peaceful protestors, in an effort to hold accountable parties who undermine trust in democratic institutions.  OFAC also designated two individuals and two entities that were identified by the State Department for participating in certain gross violations of human rights in Iran.  These individuals and entities were designated by OFAC pursuant to Executive Order 13818, which builds upon and implements the Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act, and targets persons who engage in corruption and serious human rights abuse around the world.  Some of the designations were also made pursuant to EO 13553 to address serious human rights abuses by the Government of Iran; Section 106 of the Countering America’s Adversaries Through Sanctions Act (CAATSA) for human rights abuses against persons who seek to expose illegal activity carried out by officials in the Iranian Government; and EO 13572 targeting parties responsible for or complicit in human rights abuses in Syria.

As a result of these designations, all property and interests in property of today’s designees within the United States or within the possession or control of a U.S. person are blocked, and U.S. persons are generally prohibited from engaging in transactions involving the designated persons.  In addition, entities owned 50 percent or more by one or more blocked persons are also blocked. 

Department of Treasury Press Release