October 18, 2022

EU designates 11 individuals and 4 entities in Iran for serious human rights violations

On October 17, 2022, the Council of the EU imposed restrictive measures upon 11 individuals and 4 entities under the Iran human rights sanctions regime for their role in the death of Mahsa Amini and the violent repression of the protests that followed.  The restrictive measures were imposed following the Council’s adoption of Council Implementing Decision (CFSP) 2022/1956 and Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2022/1955.  Among the designated entities is Iran’s Morality Police, the group which arbitrarily arrested Amini in Tehran for wearing a hijab improperly and, according to reliable reports and witnesses, brutally beat and eventually killed Amini while she was in custody at police headquarters.  The Council also listed the head of the Morality Police and the head of its Tehran branch.  In addition, the Council designated the Iranian Law Enforcement Forces (“LEF”) along with several of its local chiefs for the violent response to demonstrators in Iran following Amini’s death and designated Issa Zarepour, Iran’s Minister of Information and Communications Technology, for playing a key role in the internet blackout that was imposed following the demonstrations in Iran.  

The restrictive measures imposed under the Iran human rights sanctions regime include travel bans and asset freezes, and prohibit EU citizens and companies from making funds available to designated persons and entities.  This sanctions regime also bans the export of equipment that can be used for internal repression or to monitor telecommunications.


Council of the EU Press Release | Council Implementing Decision (CFSP) 2022/1956 | Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2022/1955