December 2, 2022

New US sanctions follow DPRK intercontinental ballistic missile launches

Three individuals have been designated by the Office of Foreign Assets Control of the US Department of the Treasury for holding positions as officials in the Workers’ Party of Korea.  The individuals, Jon Il Ho, Yu Jin and Kim Su Gil, have participated in the development of weapons of mass destruction and were designated by OFAC pursuant to Executive Order 13687 following recent launches of intercontinental ballistic missiles by the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea.  The designations of Jon Il Ho, Yu Jin and Kim Su Gil were issued in coordination with parallel measures by the Republic of Korea and Japan.  The three men were designated by the European Union in April 2022. 

As a result of these designations, all property and interests in property of the designees within the United States or within the possession or control of a US person are blocked, and US persons are generally prohibited from engaging in transactions involving the designated persons.

US Dept of the Treasury press release