December 2, 2022

US designates four leaders of terrorist groups operating in Afghanistan

On December 1, 2022, the US Department of State designated members of the Indian Subcontinent (“AQIS”) and Tehrik-e Taliban Pakistan (“TTP”), two terrorist groups that operate in Afghanistan.  The State Department sanctioned four leaders of AQIS and TTP as Specially Designated Global Terrorists pursuant to Executive Order 13224, as amended, in an effort to deter efforts to use Afghanistan as a platform for international terrorism. 

As a result of these designations, all property and interests in property of the designees within the United States or within the possession or control of a US person are blocked, and US persons are generally prohibited from engaging in transactions involving the designated persons.  In addition, entities owned 50 percent or more by a designated person or entity are also blocked, and foreign financial institutions that knowingly conduct significant transactions for the designated entities risk exposure to sanctions.

Department of State Press Release | Department of Treasury Recent Action