The French Direction Générale du Trésor (Treasury), part of the Ministry of Economy and Finance, is responsible for administering financial and trade sanctions.  It has a web portal dedicated to international economic sanctions (available only in French), which includes:

  • a comprehensive, country-by-country overview of the sanctions regimes applicable under French law; and
  • a consolidated list of the persons designated by French, EU and UN sanctions.

In practice, except for some specific issues (e.g., the freezing of assets of France-based terrorists) that are regulated by the French Monetary and Financial Code 1, the majority of sanctions applicable under French law are directly, and entirely, governed by EU and UN regulations.

EU restrictive measures can target:

(i) governments of foreign countries;

(ii) entities providing the means to conduct targeted practices (e.g., nuclear proliferation activities, human rights violations, annexations of foreign territory, deliberate destabilization of a sovereign country);

(iii) organizations such as terrorist groups; and/or

(iv) individuals supporting the targeted or involved in prohibited activities.

Sanctions generally include:

(i) arms embargoes;

(ii) travel bans;

(iii) freezing of assets; and/or

(iv) economic sanctions or restrictions concerning specific sectors of economic activity, including import or export bans on certain goods, investment bans, prohibitions on supplying certain services, etc.

1 Articles L.151-2, L.562-2 of the French Monetary and Financial Code

More topics in this series