March 14, 2022

UK sanctions 386 members of Russian Duma

On March 11, 2022, Foreign Secretary Liz Truss announced sanctions upon 386 members of the Russian State Duma, the lower house of the Russian parliament, who supported the breakaway of the Luhansk and Donetsk regions.  The sanctions were imposed upon the Duma members who voted to ratify treaties in February 2022 before Russia’s invasion of Ukraine which recognized the independence of the Luhansk and Donetsk regions from Ukraine and authorized the permanent presence of Russia’s military in those regions.  The listed individuals are subject to asset freezes and travel bans in the UK, reportedly bringing the total number of Russian Duma members sanctioned by the UK to 400. 

UK Foreign Secretary Press Release | OFSI Financial Sanctions Notice