August 17, 2023

OFAC sanctions four Russian nationals pursuant to Magnitsky Act

On August 17, 2023, four Russian nationals were designated by the US Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control for their roles in the August 2020 poisoning of Aleksey Navalny, an anti-corruption activist and opposition politician.  The designations, pursuant to the Sergei Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act of 2012, target a Russian Federal Security Service (”FSB”) operative and three members of the FSB Criminalistics Institute, which was designated in August 2021 pursuant to Executive Order 13382 for acting on behalf of the FSB.  According to OFAC, the four designees took part in the poisoning of Navalny, the cleanup and attempted concealment following the poisoning, and the surveillance of Navalny and other anti-corruption activists.  All four individuals — Alexey Alexandrovich Alexandrov, Konstantin Kudryavtsev, Ivan Vladimirovich Osipov, and Vladimir Alexandrovich Panyaev — were previously designated pursuant to Executive Order 13382 for activing on behalf of the FSB.

As a result of these designations, all property and interests in property of the designees within the United States or within the possession or control of a US person are blocked, and US persons are generally prohibited from engaging in transactions involving the designated persons.  In addition, entities owned 50 percent or more by one or more blocked persons are also blocked.

In coordination with the designations by OFAC, the US Department of State has imposed visa restrictions against Alexandrov, Kudryavtsev, Osipov, Panyaev and their immediate family members.

US Dept of the Treasury press release