All of the economic and financial sanctions imposed in connection with the Iranian nuclear program were lifted on January 16, 2016 pursuant to the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) between the E3/EU+3 (China, France, Germany, the Russian Federation, the UK, and the US, with the High Representative of the EU for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy) and the Islamic Republic of Iran.

However, certain proliferation-related measures and restrictions remain in place, e.g., arms embargo, restrictive measures related to missile technology, restrictions on certain nuclear-related transfers and activities, and provisions concerning certain metals and software which are subject to an authorization regime.  Additional information can be found here.

Certain restrictive measures that are not part of JCPOA also still apply.  These measures were imposed by the EUand have been retained as part of the UK’s domestic legislation, in relation to serious human rights violations in Iran, support for terrorism, and other grounds.  They include travel restrictions and asset freezes, and embargoes on equipment that may be used for internal repression and on equipment that may be used to monitor or intercept the Internet and telephone communications.  Additional information can be found here.

More topics in this series