EU imposed restrictive measures against Russia in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and the deliberate destabilization of Ukraine. Such measures include an asset freeze and a travel ban against certain individuals and entities. Additional individuals, involved in the misappropriation of Ukrainian state funds, have been subject to an asset freeze.

Further restrictions target the economic relations with Crimea and Sevastopol, including:

  • an import ban on goods from Crimea and Sevastopol;
  • restrictions on trade and investment related to certain economic sectors and infrastructure projects;
  • a prohibition to supply tourism services in Crimea or Sevastopol;
  • an export ban for certain goods and technologies.

The EU also imposed economic sanctions targeting exchanges with Russia in specific economic sectors. For instance, among other restrictions, it is prohibited to:

  • import or export arms and related material to or from Russia;
  • sell, supply, transfer or export dual-use goods and technology for military use in Russia or to any designated person or entity;
  • make loans or credit with a maturity exceeding 30 days to any designated person or entity;
  • transact or deal with certain financial instruments issued by designated persons or entities;
  • export certain equipment without prior authorization, or provide technical or financial assistance, or other services, in connection with the export, sale, or transfer of such equipment without prior authorization; and
  • provide Russian operators with sensitive technologies and services for oil exploration and production (1) in Russian waters deeper than 150 meters, (2) in the offshore area north of the Arctic Circle, or (3) for projects with the potential to produce oil from shale formations through hydraulic fracturing.

EU’s restrictive measures against Russia can be found here.


You are currently offline.